• Reviews RSS Feed

    by Published on February 5th, 2016 08:00 AM  Number of Views: 207 
    1. Categories:
    2. Gaming
    Article Preview


    Time for another Flashback Friday article. We created these types of articles in order to write about things we never got a chance to before, like our upcoming Game of the Decade article, or reviews of games that were released before GND-Tech was around. In this article we bring you a review of a hidden gem, Cryostasis: Sleep of Reason. It is a psychological horror game developed by Action Forms, published by 1C Company, Aspyr, and others, and released exclusively for PC in 2009. It was also a nominee for Dark Horse of the Decade in our aforementioned Game of the Decade article, it won Best Sound Effects of the Decade, and it has earned an entry in our ten best stories in video games article.

    In our Flashback Friday reviews like this one, we score its graphics quality with regard to its time period in order to make it more fair. So keep this in mind! Continue to the next page for the review.



    Once upon a time, Cryostasis: Sleep of Reason was actually well known. It was marketed heavily by NVIDIA for its use of NVIDIA's PhysX engine (originally AGEIA PhysX before NVIDIA acquired and expanded upon it). It was also promoted ...
    by Published on December 20th, 2015 08:00 PM  Number of Views: 1480 
    1. Categories:
    2. Gaming
    Article Preview


    Fallout 4's appearance at E3 (or rather the evidence of its appearance leading up to E3) was probably the most pleasant surprise of 2015. It was a late announcement, only months before the release of the game. Last year nobody was even anticipating Fallout 4, since nobody knew when it was going to release. Fallout 3 received critical acclaim, and every game from Bethesda Game Studios except for The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind was consensus game of the year. In fact, every single one of their games including Morrowind are our pick for game of the year. Does Fallout 4 continue this streak of excellence? Read our review to find out.



    Fallout 4 is a multiplatform action role-playing game, although being made by Bethesda Game Studios you can expect lots of catering to the PC version. This is most evident with mod support. Mods have already been available for a long time on Nexusmods, and Steam Workshop support is promised for 2016. Note that as of December 7, 2015, mod support is partially broken and a workaround is needed to get modded files to work (Nexus Mod Manager is the easiest one, and be sure to not use Fallout 4's launcher and use Fallout 4 Configuration Tool instead).

    The reason our review is later than usual is because Fallout 4 is an absolutely massive scale game, and we really seek to know the game inside and out before delivering a review. That, and because we don't receive the game early to review. But hey, this way you can be sure you're getting an unbiased review.

    Fallout 4 includes a launcher which you must go through to launch the game. In it you can configure graphics options (you can't configure most of them in-game), mod files, and other settings. Note that there is no built-in method for changing FOV or disabling mouse acceleration. You must edit two INI files manually (follow this guide to do so) or use Fallout 4 Configuration Tool (which is a GUI application that edits the INIs for you). Configuration Tool is recommended since it's easy to use and has other options like disabling the intrusive compass.

    What is incredible is that the game lets you choose any HUD color and any Pip-Boy color you want, by providing RGB sliders for each. A small feature that goes a really long way. You can also adjust HUD opacity as with their previous games.


    Fallout 4 is a third-person and first-person game, allowing the player to choose at a whim. It is the same type of game as Fallout 3. If you look at it as an improved version of Fallout 3, using some ideas from The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, then you have the right idea. It's not much like the first two Fallout games, which are isometric turn-based RPGs with far more role-playing, and far more challenging and tactical gameplay that's obviously more limited than the open world Fallout 4.

    Nor does it have the writing excellence of Fallout: New Vegas. While this is unfortunate, one thing everyone must realize (and too many people haven't) is that Bethesda Game Studios, who have only created the single player Elder Scrolls games, ...
    by Published on November 7th, 2015 11:00 AM  Number of Views: 2183 
    Article Preview


    The AKG K7xx is a Massdrop exclusive limited edition headphone based on the AKG K702 65th Anniversary Edition. It is a very popular headphone right now, known particularly for its value, boasting a modest price of $199. It is an open-back, over-ear/circumaural dynamic transducer headphone.

    Massdrop is a fairly recent, popular store that does group buys. This is how they get lower than average prices. The K7xx demonstrates this with its $199 price tag; the K702 65th Anniversary which it is based on used to cost substantially more, and the K712 Pro which is also based on the K702 65th Anniversary usually goes for nearly $400. To read more about these AKG models and more, see this thread.

    Although the K7xx is limited edition, thousands have been sold so it's not quite the rarest headphone in the world. It is in very high demand at Massdrop.

    In this review we will evaluate its build quality, music performance, and gaming performance.



    The K7xx's box has an abundance of ...
    by Published on November 1st, 2015 02:00 PM  Number of Views: 2650 
    1. Categories:
    2. Processors
    Article Preview


    The Intel Core i7 6700k is Intel's latest high end unlocked processor. It features four cores with up to eight threads thanks to Intel's Hyperthreading technology. It uses a very small 14nm fabrication process, comes at 4.0 GHz out of the box (4.2 GHz with turbo mode), features a 95W TDP, and is said to be the best overclocker since Sandy Bridge (i7 2600k namely).

    In this review, we will look at the performance of the i7 6700k in synthetic benchmarks, games, and compare them to the i7 2600. Both were compared with turbo mode enabled, driving both to 4.2 GHz, to measure clock for clock performance. We will also look at how well the i7 6700k overclocks on the ASUS Maximus VIII Hero Z170 motherboard, with 16GB (2 x 8GB) G.SKILL Ripjaws V DDR4 3000 MHz RAM. So, without further ado, let us begin!



    The following hardware configurations were used for all tests.

    Sandy Bridge build:

    • Lian-Li PC-7HX case (2x Silverstone AP141 front intake fans,
    ...
    by Published on October 10th, 2015 09:00 PM  Number of Views: 4918 
    1. Categories:
    2. Gaming
    Article Preview


    Last October we presented our list of the greatest horror games of all time. The top two games on that list are those belonging to Frictional Games, one of the best developing studios there is. Now, one year later we review their latest game: SOMA. It is their first multiplatform title (we're reviewing the PC version), and it is a first person horror game as we're accustomed to seeing from this studio. However, it is more psychological and philosophical than anything they've ever made.

    This review contains spoilers for Penumbra, Amnesia: The Dark Descent, and SOMA itself. If you've never played any of these games then just skip to the Gameplay page and read on from there. Or, if you've played Penumbra and Amnesia but not SOMA, then you may read every page except for the Closer Look page. Otherwise, go on to the next page to continue with our review.



    Spoilers for Penumbra and Amnesia begin here.

    Quote Originally Posted by Merriam Webster Dictionary
    Soma

    noun

    plural so-ma-ta | \ˈsō-mə-tə\ or somas

    Definition of SOMA

    1 : the body of an organism

    2 : all of an organism except the germ cells

    3 : CELL BODY

    See also: somatic
    Unsurprisingly the title of the game gives some hint about what it's going to be about. It is a horror experience like no other.

    The most well known game from Frictional Games is Amnesia: The Dark Descent, a first person PC exclusive horror game known mostly for its terrifying survival horror, capturing two spots on our list of the ten scariest moments in video game history. Amnesia scared us primarily through its gameplay; dark, chilling atmosphere with limited light sources, and powerful enemies which you cannot battle by traditional means. It forever changed the face of video game history, with just about every horror game since then being heavily inspired by it, including Outlast, Alien: Isolation, and most others. Amnesia is more original than these other horror games however, due to its more original atmosphere and better detailed levels, and because it doesn't rely on cheap jump scares.

    But Amnesia was more than just frightening atmosphere. It was more than just dark corridors and monsters, which separates it from most other horror games. It also provokes feelings of uneasiness, by putting the player ...
    by Published on September 5th, 2015 06:00 AM  Number of Views: 3207 
    1. Categories:
    2. Peripherals
    Article Preview


    The Beyerdynamic DT 880 Pro is a classic headphone, one that has gained critical acclaim for years. The DT 880 was the unofficial flagship for Beyerdynamic until the release of the T1. Now in 2015, the DT 880 Pro stands as a popular mid-fi headphone in competition with the likes of the Sennheiser HD 600 and AKG K712 Pro. In this review we will evaluate the DT 880 Pro 250 Ohm and see how it has withstood the test of time.

    Our test system includes a Windows PC fitted with a Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD as the sound source. The Titanium HD's optical SPDIF out is connected to a Maverick Audio Tubemagic D1 which serves as our DAC and amplifier. In addition, the opamps within the D1 have been replaced by higher quality LT1364 units. The DT 880 Pro has been allowed plenty of burn-in time and brain burn-in for this review.



    Beyerdynamic's DT 880 is available in several different forms; Pro 250 Ohm, Premium 32 Ohm, Premium 250 Ohm, and Premium 600 Ohm. We are reviewing the Pro 250 Ohm model, the least expensive of the bunch. The specifications for which are listed in the table below.


    Two things jump off that table; the 96 dB sensitivity ...
    by Published on December 28th, 2014 10:00 PM  Number of Views: 15715 
    1. Categories:
    2. Gaming
    Article Preview


    The Vanishing of Ethan Carter is an open world first-person adventure, detective, and mystery game released during 2014. Independently developed by The Astronauts, the game was released as a timed PC exclusive but will make its way to Playstation 4 in 2015. Since its release it has gathered a cult following and made a strong impression on many, but it is hard to impress us at GND-Tech. Let's see if The Vanishing of Ethan Carter delivers.

    We apologize for the belatedness of the review; real life has once again interfered and we buy these games ourselves, as consumers just like the rest of you. But we assure you, the wait will pay off.



    Ethan Carter I didn't know. But he knew who I was. When the police won't help you, and the priests don't believe you, you call on Paul Prospero. You call on me. If you're a kid like Ethan, you write. Plenty do. Ethan's letter started out just like any other fan mail, but soon there were mentions of things no little boy
    ...
    by Published on December 24th, 2014 10:00 PM  Number of Views: 8187 
    1. Categories:
    2. Gaming
    Article Preview


    GND-Tech's most anticipated game of 2014 has finally arrived. Dragon Age: Inquisition, a multiplatform Role-Playing Game (RPG) released in November 2014, is the third installment in BioWare's Dragon Age franchise. Like the other installments, Inquisition is a character-driven dark fantasy wRPG. The first game in the franchise, Dragon Age: Origins, was released in 2009 to critical acclaim, especially from GND-Tech which considers it to be one of the best games ever made. From an objective standpoint it was perhaps the most ambitious single player game ever made, by offering an expansive detailed game world, non-linear progression, strong story focus, some of the best character development you will ever find, far more dialogue than almost any other game (Inquisition being the exception), six 90-150 minute playable introductions (origins) based on your character's race and class, diverse tactical gameplay with no less than six different playstyles, a competent role-playing system, and masterful attention to detail. Best of all the plot and character development of Dragon Age: Origins branch out more than almost every other game, and this is based on player interaction. It takes no less than six playthroughs to see all of what it has to offer, and each playthrough can be vastly different from one another.

    Along came Dragon Age 2 in 2011, only one year after the release of Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening. It is unfortunate that Dragon Age ...

    Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 4 5 6 7