• Reviews RSS Feed

    by Published on April 16th, 2014 08:00 PM
    1. Categories:
    2. Hard Drives
    Article Preview

    Lets face it, loosing data due to hard drive failure flat out sucks. We've all been there, and how we wished we took the time to back everything up before the disaster struck. But how? Well, that's where a good NAS (Network Attached Storage) system comes into play. The N2310 by Thecus is the perfect solution for home or small businesses users who want greater peace of mine when it comes to data integrity. A NAS storage solution is perfect because it provides a centralized backup location for all computers on the network.


    Currently NAS drives range in features so it's important to choose the configuration and features you want before purchasing. If you are looking for features, you'll find them on the N2310. Most of them I will be going in depth later on in the review, but some of the main features include RAID support, a web-based GUI interface, FTP and SSH connectivity, a built in BitTorrent client, and Android and IOS app support. Our first thoughts... impressive! Time to put the N2310 through the ringer and see how it does during our tests.




    As I mentioned on the previous page, the Thecus N2310 comes with a boat-load of features which will appeal to a rather large range of users. Whether you are looking for a backup solution, or a convenient way to access your files, you might be surprised at how well a NAS solution will work for you.

    At a glance, the N2310 features ...
    by Published on March 6th, 2014 12:45 AM
    1. Categories:
    2. Sound
    Article Preview

    Steelseries is best known for their gaming oriented headsets, especially the great value "Siberia V2" which achieved a gold award when we reviewed them back in late 2012 but they are less well known for their more commercial, non gamer aimed headsets such as the H series and FLUX.


    Their best in ear headphones are the "Flux In-Ear Pros" which is what we are reviewing today. Available for 110.35 from their official store or $99.95 from Amazon.com it features a flat, 1.2m cable with two connectors, one for your PC (red and green two band) and one for mobile (or Mac) ...
    by Published on January 19th, 2014 08:00 PM
    1. Categories:
    2. Hard Drives
    Article Preview



    As the technology SSD controllers continue to advance, so does OCZ's lineup of solid state drives. The Vector series of SSD drives, which are geared towards enthusiasts, is no exception. A solid state drives controller is essentially its brain; the performance factor of the controller, in turn, greatly effects the overall performance of the SSD. The controller found on the Vector 150 is OCZ's brand new Barefoot 3 controller is very close to that found in the Vertex 450, which we recently reviewed. With that being said, if the performance of the Vector 150 is anything like we saw with the Vertex 450, I'd say this drive will post some pretty awesome benchmarks!


    As with 99% of all other solid state drives out there, the Vector 150 fits the standard 2.5 inch form factor and a slim 7mm tall. The first thing we were glad to see was that the styling of the Vector 150 was similar to that of the original Vector drive.

    MSRP for the Vector 150 120GB model stands at around $135 which is definitely on the high side of the current 120GB SSD market.





    As we touched on previously, the OCZ Vector 150 is equipped with OCZ's own in-house controller, the Indilinx Barefoot 3 (M00). The controller is no doubt the biggest factor when comparing the Vector 150 to any other ...
    by Published on November 26th, 2013 03:30 PM
    1. Categories:
    2. Hard Drives
    Article Preview


    Just when you think solid state drives are about as fast as they are going to get, OCZ's Vertex 450 was released and proved us all wrong. As of lately SSD read and write speeds have pretty much capped due to hardware limitations of the SATA6 controller. Anywhere from 500-550MB/sec read/write speeds are about as fast as you are going to get. Manufacturers today are focusing heavily on the SSD's IOPS (Input/Output Operations Per Second). IOPS are used as a general benchmark for read and write performance so it's important to factor a SSD's IOPS in addition to it's read and write speeds when determining how "fast" an SSD really is.


    The Vertex 450 is pushing some pretty strong ratings according to OCZ. Random read speeds peak at 85,000 IOPS, and random write at 90,000 IOPS. These numbers are very close to the Vertex 4 so it will be interesting to see how this newer generation compares to its predecessor.

    As far as capacity goes, the Vertex 450 comes in three sizes: 128GB, 256GB and 512GB. Each come with OCZ's home brew NAND controller which based upon past reviews, has shown outstanding performance when compared to SandForce. The Vertex 450 uses the OCZ Indilinx Barefoot 3 M10 controller.

    Take a look at the next page for even more detailed specs!







    I mentioned on the previous page that the OCZ Vertex 450 is equipped with OCZ's own in-house controller, the ...
    by Published on November 3rd, 2013 09:00 PM
    1. Categories:
    2. Gaming
    Article Preview


    Doorways is an episodic horror and mystery game, released exclusively on PC in late 2013. Only the first two chapters have been released so far, and that's what we'll be looking at today.

    This game looks to provide a complex story and very unique, creepy atmosphere. You play as Thomas Foster, sent to hunt down four dangerous psychopaths for the betterment of mankind. But as you will find out, this is not a straightforward journey or manhunt. Nothing is what it appears to be, as you will delve into the minds of these psychopaths to understand their motivations.



    This PC exclusive title uses Steamworks, and supports mouse/keyboard and controller ...
    by Published on November 1st, 2013 10:00 PM
    1. Categories:
    2. Gaming
    Article Preview

    "When there's no more room in hell, the dead will walk the earth"


    No More Room in Hell is a free cooperative zombie survival game, made on the Source engine. It originally started out as a Source mod released in 2011, requiring only Source SDK Base 2007. But now it's completely standalone, and the developers have expanded and polished it greatly for it's official Halloween 2013 release.

    There have been many co-op zombie shooters in recent years, with Left 4 Dead making it boost in popularity. Even Call of Duty games feature a zombie mode, which is actually more similar to No More Room in Hell than most others.

    What separates No More Room in Hell from others ...
    by Published on October 16th, 2013 08:00 PM
    1. Categories:
    2. Cases
    Article Preview

    As typical computers are getting smaller and smaller, high-end gaming machines are only getting bigger. The proof? Take a look at Cooler Master's latest lineup of what they are calling their first "mod-tower" computer chassis, the HAF Stacker 935 (HAF-935-KWN). This chassis lives up to it's name. The HAF 935, which we will looking at in depth in this review, comes with two completely independent computer cases which can be mounted onto each other. The HAF 935 is a two unit system which includes the main unit and the HAF 915 R/F.


    The main unit is a full tower EATX case with plenty of room for high end gaming components. The HAF 915 has several uses, all of which we will be going into in-depth later on in this review. Both cases are able to be mounted to each other with either one on the top or bottom depending on its intended use. This is by far the most unique, let alone complex case configuration we have yet had the pleasure of reviewing, so without too much of an introduction, lets take a closer look at the case's features and specs!




    Did somebody say features? The Stacker HAF 935 has features all right, so lets try to briefly cover them all. As, we mentioned on the previous page, the HAF 935 is two independently configurable cases which can be mounted together in order to produce a very large, very expandable computer system.

    Although the HAF 935 is one complete system, lets take a look at the specs individually for simplicity's sake.

    For further info regarding ...
    by Published on October 7th, 2013 10:00 PM
    1. Categories:
    2. Power Supplies
    Article Preview

    We are back at it again with another review. This time another high end power supply from Cooler Master titled the V850. This particular unit has a power rating of 850W; not only that, carries a strong efficiency rate giving it an 80+ Gold rating. In order to achieve the prestigious Gold rating, the PSU must be capable of running at 90% efficiency under a typical (50%) load. From what we've seen, power supplies which carry high efficiency ratings, such as the V850, tend to be built much better over lower rated power supplies. However, with performance and quality comes price. In addition to the excellent performance rating, The V850 is fully 100% modular unlike many other modular PSUs which have modular hookups alongside fixed cables.

    The Cooler Master V850 comes from the V-Series family of enthusiast power supplies. In addition to this model, there is the V700 and the V1000. Each V-series power supply comes with the 80+ Gold rating.



    In this review we will be carefully analyzing the CM V850 PSU to see if it measures up to it's claimed efficiency rating. We will also be loading it up to it's max rated power rating of 850W to see just how well it performs. Quality of construction and appearance will also be analyzed. But without ...

    Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
  • Advertisment

  • This Week's Most Popular

  • Find us on Facebook